This is a zine dedicated to Symphonic and gothic metal

REVIEW OF THE ALBUM “Creeping Time” by Misteyes

Track List:

1.The Last Knell (intro)
2.Creeping Time
3.Brains in a Vat
4.Inside the Golden Cage
5.Lady Loneliness
6.The Prey
7.Destroy Your Past
8.The Demon of Fear
9.A Fragile Balance (Awake the Beast – Part 1)
10.Chaos (Awake the Beast – Part 2)
11.Decapitated Rose
12.Winter’s Judgement

Few words about Misteyes. The started in 2012 with five members line – up ,after one year they released their first single ” Brains In A Vat” a  melodic death/black metal song. In 2014 they added in their band two more members , one female singer and one keyboardist. So they released their demo ” Lady Loneliness”. And finally in 2016 they released the debut album “Creeping Time”. Their sound has many influences ,as  symphonic metal, gothic ,death, horror and epic movies and soundtracks. A mix  of dark and light music.

Misteyes are :

Edoardo “Irmin” Iacono (Scream/Growl Vocals)

Denise “Ainwen” Manzi (Clean/Opera Vocals)

Daniele “Insanus” Poveromo (Guitars)

Gabriele “Hyde” Gilodi (Keyboards and Orchestrations)

 Andrea “Hephaestus” Gammeri (Bass and Fretless Bass)

  Federico “Krieger” Tremaioni (Drums)

“Creeping Time ” is not a common album , It is unlike anything else out there. It’s dark and light , haunting and delight , dreamy and horrible , calming and upsetting , sensible and wild, it is just a mesmerizing , perfect album. All the instruments are played to their great potential and arranged and composed perfectly. Each track bring to us  a work depressive and sinister in sound that opes suddenly into sequences an assault of beast growls.

Let’s see track by track what offering to us this album:

1.The Last Knell (intro):

Intro with  a baby who cry  and beautiful symphonic arrangement follows with marvelous chorus.


RATING: 10/10

2.Creeping Time:

Bombardistic  guitars and thunder drums open the track to enter the male growls with the operatic female voice. Dark and hunting atmosphere fly like fog over our ears. The aggressive growls are in balance with the melodic female vocals and the soud of the keyboards reign on!


RATING: 10/10

3.Brains in a Vat:

The Track straight away by pounding drums and riffing guitars as the operatic style vocal combines with the gutteral male vocals.The keyboard work well against the power of the guitars . A piece that has a various of different passage into the five plus minutes.


RATING: 9/10

4.Inside the Golden Cage:

Lovely keys open the piece  before the female voice enters with beautiful vocals to soar as the male growls interrupt the proccedings, a black shadow over the light.


RATING: 9/10

5.Lady Loneliness:

Softly piano work start the most beautiful piece of the album. Female melodic vocals that are tinged with plenty of sadness. After 2.5 minutes the potential growls  hitting your ears but the operatic style of the female vocals brings light among the darkness.


RATING: 10/10

6.The Prey:

Breathe taking  drums starts the track with steady beat that explode with the high poer guitars. Another track  with a lot of different section like a roll – coaster. One difficult to constructed number!


RATING: 8.5/10

7.Destroy Your Past:

Another track with different blends of dark and light, with heavy guitars and powerful drums. Again  the vocals follow the rules of Epica and Tristania songs.


RATING: 8/10

8.The Demon of Fear:

The most dark piece of the album , with heavy lumber of guitars and funeral bass where the keyboard hide behind the vocals of the Beauty  and the Beast.


RATING: 8.5/10

9.A Fragile Balance (Awake the Beast – Part 1):

Beginning with haunting and melodic keyboard  and symphonic orchestration  and operatic female and  clean male vocals that are accompanied  by orchestral arrangement.


RATING: 10/10

10.Chaos (Awake the Beast – Part 2):

From the first second  we running a track  that has fast heavy tempo. The growls  control  the song under the sound of razor guitars, driving bass and crazy pounding drums. The only song that is without female vocals.


RATING: 8/10

11.Decapitated Rose:

The song starts with strong drums then the riffing guitar comes in with the heavy bass.The growls enter to join soon with the operatic vocals.This number is loud , dark and run along to a creepy dark approach.


RATING: 8/10

12.Winter’s Judgement:

The album ends with a great track  that has  as special guest  on violin Nicole Ansperger from Eluveitie . There are a lots of tones and variations  that pick you up the power and soar back. Everything melts  together as well. Great piano and excellent violin!


RATING: 10/10

Finally it is an amazing debut album that hit me from the first second  and left me hungry for more tan the 64 minutes. Misteyes is in my opinion  the biggest surprise of 2016 and their album one of the best  (maybe the best) in these first six months of the year. Highly recommended to ALL!

RATING: 9.08/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s